Search just our sites by using our customised search engine

Unique Cottages | Electric Scotland's Classified Directory

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

The Commonwealth


Caribbean and Americas

Did you know:

Dominica was the first state in the Americas to have a female Prime Minister. Dame Eugenia Charles served from 1980 to 1995.

At his appointment in 2004 the current Prime Minister, Roosevelt Skerrit, was the youngest head of government in the world, aged 31.

Key facts

Joined Commonwealth: 1978
Population: 72,000 (2013)
GDP: 1.8% p.a. 1990–2013
UN HDI: world ranking 93
Official language: English
Timezone: GMT minus 4hr
Currency: Eastern Caribbean dollar (EC$)


Area: 750 sq km
Coastline: 148km
Capital city: Roseau
Population density (per sq. km): 96

The Commonwealth of Dominica is one of the Windward Islands in the Eastern Caribbean, lying between Guadeloupe to the north and Martinique to the south.

Main towns:

Roseau (capital, pop. 14,725 in 2011), Portsmouth (4,167), Canefield (3,324), Marigot (2,411), Salisbury (2,147), Berekua (2,134), Mahaut (2,113), St Joseph (1,746), Wesley (1,362) and Castle Bruce (1,087).


There are 1,510 km of roads, 50 per cent paved. Round-island network was completed in the late 1980s, despite the technical difficulties presented by Dominica’s mountainous terrain and friable volcanic rock.

Banana boats and tourist cruiseships call at Roseau, at the deep- water harbour in Woodbridge Bay, and in Prince Rupert’s Bay, Portsmouth.

The airports at Melville Hall, 64 km north-east of Roseau, and Canefield, 5 km north of Roseau, can accommodate only turbo- prop passenger aircraft. Tourists flying into Dominica must therefore generally come via the nearby island of Antigua.

International relations:

Dominica is a member of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, Association of Caribbean States, Caribbean Community, Non- Aligned Movement, Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States, Organization of American States, United Nations and World Trade Organization.


A volcanic island 46 km in length, Dominica has a central mountain ridge running from Cape Melville in the north to the cliffs in the south. Morne Diablotin rises to 1,447 metres. There are numerous mountain streams and rivers, none of them navigable. The scenery is outstandingly beautiful, with waterfalls and luxuriantly wooded mountains. Most beaches are of black volcanic sand, with some of golden sand.


The climate is subtropical and hot, but cooled by sea breezes, with a rainy season in June–October, when hurricanes may occur. Rainfall is heavy, especially in mountain areas.


The most significant environmental issues are shortage of drinking water; deforestation; soil erosion; pollution of the coastal zone by chemicals used in farming and factories, and untreated sewage.


Dominica is known as the nature island of the Caribbean. Dense forest and woodland cover 59 per cent of the land area, with subtropical vegetation and orchids in the valleys. Tree ferns are indigenous to the island. Arable and cropped land extends to some 32 per cent of the total land area. The island has a fertile volcanic soil.


The forests have a wide range of bird species (at least three of them rare and endangered, 2012), including the brilliant Dominica parrot, or Sisserou, which is depicted on the national flag, various species of doves and the mountain whistler. There are three distinct vegetation and habitat zones determined by rainfall and elevation at defined levels around the mountains. The country has two marine reserves and several hectares of forest reserve.


Throughout its history the fertile island of Dominica has attracted settlers and colonisers and has been the subject of the military, and often bloody, squabbles of European powers. At the time of Columbus’s visit on a Sunday (dies dominica) in November 1493, the island was a stronghold of the Caribs from South America who were driving out the Arawaks. In 1627 the English took theoretical possession without settling, but by 1632 the island had become a de facto French colony; it remained so until 1759 when the English captured it. In 1660 the English and French agreed to leave the Caribs in undisturbed possession, but in fact French settlers went on arriving, bringing enslaved Africans with them. Dominica changed hands between the two European powers, passing back to France (1778) and again to England (1783). The French attempted to invade in 1795 and 1805 before eventually withdrawing, leaving Britain in possession.

In 1833 the island was linked to Antigua and the other Leeward Islands under a Governor-General at Antigua, but subsequently became part of the Federation of the Leeward Islands Colony (1871–1939) before becoming a unit of the Windward Islands group (1940–60). Dominica joined the West Indies Federation at its foundation in 1958 and remained a member until differences among larger members led to its dissolution in 1962.

Within Dominica, the formation of the Dominica Labour Party (DLP) from the People’s National Movement and other groups in the early 1960s spurred local demand for greater autonomy in internal affairs. Edward LeBlanc became Chief Minister in 1961. Under his leadership, in 1967 Dominica became one of the West Indies Associated States, with full internal self-government, while the UK remained responsible for foreign policy and defence. At LeBlanc’s retirement in 1974, Patrick John succeeded as DLP leader and Premier. After winning a large majority at the 1975 elections, John pursued the course agreed by the Associated States to seek independence separately.

On 3 November 1978, Dominica achieved independence as a republic within the Commonwealth, and took the name of Commonwealth of Dominica. John became its first Prime Minister, and Frederick Degazon the non-executive President.

In 1979 the DLP government collapsed and Oliver Seraphine of the Committee for National Salvation (CNS) was invited to form an interim government and prepare the way for elections within six months. The elections in July 1980 were won by the Dominica Freedom Party (DFP) led by Eugenia Charles (who became the first woman Prime Minister in the region), winning 17 of the 21 seats. Patrick John, who had led the country to independence, and Seraphine lost their seats.

There were two coup attempts early in the 1980s allegedly organised by factions of the Defence Force sympathetic to the John regime. In 1985, John was himself convicted of involvement in one such attempt, and sentenced to 12 years imprisonment; the following year the former commander of the Defence Force was hanged for murdering a police officer during a coup attempt.

Eugenia Charles led the DFP to victory in the 1990 general election, but, in June 1995, shortly after her retirement from politics, the DFP lost its majority. The United Workers Party (UWP) emerged as election victor with 11 seats; the DFP and the DLP each won five. Edison James, leader of the UWP, was invited by the President to form a government.

Kalinago Territory, Dominica


Learn more about Dominica on The Commonwealth site Society, Economy, Constitution & politics, History and Travel.

Annexation of Dominica
by Morton, Oliver P. (1870) (pdf)

The island of Dominica
by Endlich, Frederick Miller (1880) (pdf)

The history of the island of Dominica
by Atwood, Thomas (1791) (pdf)

Dominica: The Nature Island

In Search of Eden

Business in the Commonwealth
Web site of the Country

Return to our Commonwealth Page


This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus