Search just our sites by using our customised search engine
Unique Cottages | Electric Scotland's Classified Directory

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

Kirkintilloch Town and Parish
Curling Clubs

The “Rob Roy” was instituted in 1855, Mr. David Tait being its first president. Mr. David Marshall was second president till 1864, when Mr. Alexander Goodwin was appointed and held office till 1876; Mr. Daniel Comrie being then elected to the office, and retaining it till 1879. Mr. John J. Miller came next till 1880, when Mr. Archibald Clark the present president was appointed, and has worthily held the position since.

The Townhead Club was instituted 1855, and the Kelvin

Water Club was assimilated with it the same year. The first members were Alexander Patrick, David M'Laren, Robert M‘Andrew, James Cloggie, Alexander Williamson. Mr. David Patrick was president till 1855 when he died. Mr. Andrew Fletcher was next, then Mr. Robert Graham, who was succeeded by Mr. Thomas Scott. James Dalrymple, Esq., of Woodhead, was patron of the club from the beginning.

The oldest and most interesting club, and the oldest in the R.C.C.C. annual is the “Kirkintilloch” instituted 1716; but like the old Town Council it is a close corporation, and no information can be got of its doings in the past.

Return to Book Index Page


This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus