Search just our sites by using our customised search engine

Unique Cottages | Electric Scotland's Classified Directory

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

The Oliver Brown Award

Since 1983 the SI has honoured a Scot each year with an award named after the late W Oliver Brown who over many decades contributed a pithy column which was the first item read by many SI devotees. The "Oliver" was first awarded to the author and climber Tom Weir and is now regarded as the Scottish equivalent the "Brits" so-called honours list. The roll call of winners indeed does read as a list of outstanding Scots - Tom Weir, Prof. Derick S Thomson, Ewan Bain, Mary Marquis, David Stephen, Jimmie MacGregor, Muriel Gray, George Rosie, Norman MacCaig, Dr John Purser, Gordon Wright, Dorothy-Grace Elder, Colin Bell, (jointly) James S Adam and Sir Alastair Dunnett, Elspeth King, The Gaberlunzie (Gordon Menzies and Robin Watson), Paul H Scott, Murray Ritchie, Kenneth Roy, and Iain Anderson.



This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus